Onward and UPward

The phrase “Onward and Upward” refers to continued success or making progress. It reminds me of Philippians 3:12-14 that talks about pressing toward the goal. I can definitely relate to these words right now:

12 Not that I have already attained, or am already perfected; but I press on, that I may lay hold of that for which Christ Jesus has also laid hold of me. 13 Brothers and sisters, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, 14 I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.” Phil. 3:12-14

Of course I have athletic goals, but those are not what life is all about. The goal of the upward calling of Christ, to love each other as He loves us, and to serve as He serves, is the most important goal of all. It’s something we will never perfect, but it is a continual growth and an increasing joy. Athletics is just the vehicle God is using right now in my life, to grow me toward His eternal goal. That could change in a few years, and I know He will use other things in life to grow me, such as raising a family or moving to a new city, or really, any challenge in my life.

I love how the Bible is so “here and now” and “eternal,” all at the same time, and how the two are so connected. Our “here and now” affects eternity. Sometimes I have a hard time remembering that, and sometimes my focus is too downward; Too focused on self, rather than on others and the upward call of God. Failing is all part of the growing. Just like when I totally crash and burn in one of my events… sometimes it happens. You just have to pick up and keep pressing toward the goal. It’s not always an easy task.

Anyways, just some thoughts as I am reflecting on the first part of my season. Speaking of which… my 2014 indoor track season is already done! Time flies when you’re having fun… I tell ya.  I had a great second pentathlon to finish off the season. I got an overall PR of 4,224 points, with 60m hurdles and 800m personal best’s as well.  In the 800 meters, my personal best had been stuck at 2:17 for a long time. It felt like a wall that I couldn’t get over, but I had a great run with the help of my teammate pushing me the whole way, and I ran a 2:15!  A two second PR! I’m really excited about that race.  I had solid performances in the high jump and long jump as well, however shot put… is always a challenge. (Some of that crashing and burning I was talking about). More work to be done in all areas of course, but I look forward to the improvement I will make this outdoor season.  I am extremely happy with how the season has started out, as I improved my lifetime personal best by over 70 points.

Done
FINISHED! and can’t breathe. This was after my 800m at the end of the Pentathlon. The 5th of 5 events.

As I shift gears and prepare for my first heptathlon in April, I am focusing on staying healthy and raising money to support my competition schedule this season. But for now, I get to take a short break and regroup. I have been looking forward to this season for a long time, and I’m pretty antsy to get out there and compete… in the sunshine…outside…where it’s warm.

Here is a video of my highest jump of 1.81 meters. Thanks to Linda Blade for videoing.

In honor of the outdoor season and my first heptathlon that I will be competing in this spring, I thought I would take a little poll to see which of the seven events that I compete in, is the most appealing to all of you! Please vote for the event you would pick if you competed in track and field! I think I have an idea of which one WON’T win 🙂 Let’s see if I’m right.

Until next time, Adios!

4 Replies to “Onward and UPward”

Leave a Reply

