I’m Craving Wings

Aaron and I went to a nice chill Yin Yoga class last night, and it was great. However there is something about yoga that makes me hungry. Every time we go, I end up leaving with some sort of craving, which doesn’t happen to me all that often.  Yesterday it was Hot Wings. SO random. I haven’t had them in forever it seems. I guess I have a bit of a history with hot wings, so I’ll share the story. My family would always go to church on Saturday nights, and after church a bunch of us would go out to one of 2 restaurants that we frequented. It so happened, that both restaurants had really good hot wings… and I got them EVERY Saturday (with few exceptions)… with extra hot sauce to dip the celery. I know, weird, but so good. That’s pretty much the story.

As Aaron and I hopped in the car I expressed my concern for our lack of dinner plans and voiced my longing for some good hot wings. To my surprise, Aaron thought it was a great idea and he just so happened to know how to make them! (He keeps amazing me with his talents in the kitchen). So the endeavor began, and we worked off a simple recipe we found online. Here it is below if you’re into this kind of thing:

 

Original recipe makes 20 chicken wings

  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour (we used buckwheat)

  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

  • 20 chicken wings

  • 1/2 cup melted butter

  • 1/2 cup hot pepper sauce (such as Frank’s RedHot®)

Directions

  1. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil, and lightly grease with cooking spray. Place the flour, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, and salt into a resealable plastic bag, and shake to mix. Add the chicken wings, seal, and toss until well coated with the flour mixture. Place the wings onto the prepared baking sheet, and place into the refrigerator. Refrigerate at least 1 hour. (we only did 30 min and they turned out fine).
  2. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C).
  3. Whisk together the melted butter and hot sauce in a small bowl. Dip the wings into the butter mixture, and place back on the baking sheet. Bake in the preheated oven until the chicken is no longer pink in the center, and crispy on the outside, about 45 minutes. Turn the wings over halfway during cooking so they cook evenly.

Find the full recipe and reviews at http://allrecipes.com/recipe/baked-buffalo-wings/

The Final Product
The Final Product

I can’t begin to describe how tasty these were. I think the fact that we bought organic free range chicken wings had something to do with it, but they were incredible. I had leftovers again for lunch today, and they were just as good. Seriously amazing. With all the training I do, I have been trying to find meals that are more meat concentrated as I need lots of protein for recovery. This one definitely fit the bill, and certainly satisfied the craving lol. AAAAAAND, there was nothing unhealthy about it. Just straight up hot. I hope you can enjoy this recipe, it’s on my favorites list.

PS. I also made some extra hot sauce to dip the wings.

2 Replies to “I’m Craving Wings”

Leave a Reply

