Happy Father’s Day DAD!!

“Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right.  “Honor your father and mother”–which is the first commandment with a promise–  “that it may go well with you and that you may enjoy long life on the earth.”  Fathers, do not exasperate your children; instead, bring them up in the training and instruction of the Lord.” -Ephesians 6:1-4

Today, I want to talk about my Dad. It is Father’s Day after all. I’ve been thinking a lot about the good times growing up in my family and when it comes to my dad, he likes to have fun. We did so many things through the years; I remember when my brother and I were really into BMX racing, but my brother didn’t like to do the same thing for long, so he stepped it up and started to get into dirt-biking. Well I think my dad saw this as an opportunity to relive the old days (before he wrecked his knee in a dirt bike crash), so he bought me and himself a couple of dirt bikes and all the gear that goes with it. We would all go out in the fields behind our house and ride together. Sometimes we would even go to the big tracks where other motocross racers would ride. I think I was pretty ignorant of how much I got in their way, being tiny and slow and all, but I never minded. I just remember how fun the woopty doos were.  My dad taught me how to ride a dirt bike and those were some great memories together.  I remember always being a little scared and cautious but when I saw how he would ride, I would try to do the same. I like that my dad trusted me to test the limits and not let fear hold us back from having fun.
_MG_6288
We also both REALLY enjoy shopping. Yup thats right, you get me and my dad in a mall together and we could be there for 3 days. My dad has always loved being “in style” and I appreciate that, even when he goes way overboard and thinks something is cool when its really not.  I love that he would always ask for my advice when trying things on or if we were going out for dinner, just to make sure the outfit “worked.” I like that my dad will wear things that other people think look crazy or “out there” but to tell you the truth, I like that he can express himself in a way he enjoys, and I admire that he certainly doesn’t care what other people think. Plus he always looks dressed up and professional.
_MG_6311
One of my favorite growing up memories (this one’s from the teen years), was in the summer time when we would wash our cars together on Sundays. Growing up in the auto body industry you learn how to take care of a car. My dad taught me everything there is to know about how to properly keep your car clean, and take care of each aspect. We would spend hours out in the sunshine tanning and washing our cars together. I really really loved that, and to this day I love the process of washing my car. It is a joyful time for me.
_MG_5185
There are a plethora of other things my dad and I did together growing up. He taught me how to water ski I think even before I knew how to swim. He coached me on how to run the course on a slalom ski, and we would travel all over the world for his water ski tournaments. Most of my world traveling was due to his waterskiing. We went to France, Italy, Peru, and ALL over the states. Unfortunately, I never had the passion to pursue waterskiing. I fill my waterskiing quota about once a year. I’m sorry dad. We would also go on camping trips to lakes in the states for tournaments. I loved the laid back waterski community and you could find me playing in the water or swimming about 98.7% of the time. I was the proverbial “water rat.” I still am actually.  My dad was also a major roller hockey player. When I was about 7 or 8 he went to Chile for the Pan American Games for Canada.  I remember hopping in the van with the team; just me and a bunch of hockey players and we would drive 4 hours to Olympia for roller hockey tournaments. I loved watching them and whenever I got a chance at half time or during time outs, I would already have my skates on, grab a ball and a stick, and I’d practice.  Sometimes they would even let me practice with them when they were training. That was my favorite.
_MG_6326
There are many more memories where that comes from, but I think you get the picture. My dad is very active, and over the years I have realized that I have a lot of his qualities. We are both very athletic and enjoy being active all the time. We both border on being ADD, as we get bored very easily and are in a hurry to get everywhere! We are also both very competitive in the sports we do… and pretty much everything else. Most people know my dad as “Dave Miller,” THE “Dave Miller,” the Canadian Record holder, the world record holder at times, and a top level elite water skier all the time; Not to mention successful business owner.  However there is a whole lot more to him than that. He is the best dad to two of the luckiest and most blessed kids in the world. As Ephesians 6:4 says to fathers, “bring them up in the training and instruction of the Lord.” My parents did that. They taught us what it means and looks like to follow Jesus and love the people he has placed in our lives. They taught us what it looks like to be generous and to truly give without receiving in return. My dad helped me understand that my heavenly father is number 1 in my life and that no matter what good I do, God is to be glorified. He especially taught me how to be confident in myself as a beloved daughter of Christ, and how to have a good attitude and positive outlook no matter the circumstances.
_MG_6344
So Dad, I want to thank you for how much you love me. Thank you for teaching me everything you have learned through your life to the best of your God given abilities. I truly admire you. Thank you for being really passionate and hard on me at times, because it pushed me to be better and I know it just means you love me more. Thank you for all the opportunities you have given me in my life. I’ve been able to do a lot of things that most people don’t ever get to. I want  you to know that I love you so much and I am thankful that you are my dad.
535788_10151699920905632_1394273664_n
The End. Love Natasha, AKA Critter, Stink…
One Reply to “Happy Father’s Day DAD!!”

Leave a Reply

