The Bright Side

Deep breath. It is a gorgeous day outside. Today had a good feel to it. It felt slower than usual, which was nice because usually I’m running around without a chance to catch my breath! Today’s training was lifting weights at the U of C gym, (where I got to see the brand new track that they are in the process of installing in the Olympic Oval, and I can’t wait to run on it, and touch it. It’s beautiful and really bright blue, and did I mention new? My legs are going to really enjoy that come fall-winter training indoors… anyway), and then we ran hills. (Que music: Dun Dun Duuuuuun) The hill we run is a pretty decent size. It’s about 100-150 m long, and it gets steeper the higher you go. We ran it 6 times as fast as we could.  There’s something about hill workouts that is just so… hard. Maybe its the fact that you are giving it everything you have, but you still feel like you are running backwards. That’s probably it. It was a great day for it though, out on the soft grass with the warm summer air and sunshine ever so slowly adding darker shades to my skin.

Training has been tough the past 2 months. Since our training camp in Arizona in April, we have competed almost every weekend and had very few days off until last week. Competition went as well as can be expected from being so fatigued, but I managed a couple of personal bests throughout those competitions. As some of you may know, I have been struggling a long time with the throws (shot put and javelin). Throwing is something that I have to work extra hard at because my body does not naturally know how to transfer power and speed from my legs into an implement that I am trying to launch as far as I can. Jumping, no problem. That comes naturally. Throwing, not so much. Get it? It has been a point of much frustration throughout the years, and much of the time I feel behind the rest of the pack. However I have seen improvement in both my throws lately. Especially in shot put. In my last competition I threw a new personal best, by A LOT, and in practice I have continued to consistently throw even further. So I would like to take a moment to celebrate with a happy dance……………. That was fun.

IMG_3831

I know being able to throw a heavy ball half a meter further than before really isn’t that big of a deal in the grand scheme of life. I know that running 1 tenth of a second in a race isn’t very significant either. However, as an athlete it is so easy to fall into a discouraging, “too hard on yourself” attitude, where nothing is good enough. It is very selfish and ungrateful. So I have learned to celebrate as much as I can and be thankful and encouraged in the small things. It is the same in life outside of athletics. Life is hard and it takes effort to celebrate the little things sometimes, but we must never forget to do so with a thankful heart. Even when things go horribly wrong, or everything hits you all at once, we still have to celebrate and take joy captive in the struggle. It’s unbelievable how much this mindset effects my attitude and outlook on everyday life… and makes it waaaaaaaaay better.  I guess God knew what He was talking about when He said, “Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” -1 Thessalonians 5:16-18. What I love about the Bible is that it is God’s love letter to us. He knows and wants what is best for us. He created us. He LOVES us unconditionally. It feels so good to know I am created for a purpose.

IMG_3888

I have something else to be thankful for.  This time of my life is kind of a phase of change. I am changing jobs. I have been working at my family’s business for a long time now, and I have decided to try something new; something that I will love. For some reason I never knew what that would be, because I had never deeply thought about it.  It seemed like a hard question to answer when I asked myself, “What (other than track and field) would I actually enjoy doing? What could I be passionate about?” I didn’t get an answer right away, but in God’s timing I came to a conclusion. I want to pursue a career in Personal Training. I had assessed my gifts and my passions and it all seemed to point in that direction. I LOVE training and working out, just as much as I love competing. I really enjoy teaching people. Throughout my years at University I had many opportunities to coach other athletes in my sport. I got a lot of positive feedback and really enjoyed seeing the results, and giving encouragement along the way. I also have a business background, and that is helpful because Personal training is a lot like running your own business. AND I have a passion to love people and build meaningful relationships. What better way to build relationships than to work hard and sweat together!

OK so as this new idea/goal was forming in my mind, I decided to do something about it. The first thing I had to do was find a gym that wanted to hire me, but I had something very specific in mind. I did some research and it turns out there was a brand new gym across the street from my house. So I dropped off my resume and that led to a couple interviews.  I wanted a clean, quiet, smaller working environment where I could work with my clients one on one without a million other people around. I’m big on Quality, not quantity.  I wanted to work for people who would appreciate my gifts and talents and encourage me to grow them. The last and most difficult thing I needed was to work in a place that could work with my own training and competition schedule. So during my interviews, I was able to get a feel for the culture of the company and it couldn’t have been a more perfect place. They ended up hiring me as a personal trainer, (even though I still had to get my certification). I am so overly excited and blessed and thankful!!!! SO very soon I will be a personal trainer at Vagus Fitness in Royal Oak in Calgary!!

Vagus-Fitness-Gym-Calgary-Personal-Trainer-Fitness-Classes-Spin-Weight-Loss-e1398803666998-1024x526

 

vagus-fitness-calgary998

Given this situation, this past month has been a crazy one. I have been studying for my personal training certification whenever I have time in between training, competing, and working at the autobody shop (oh and I’m studying German with my husband, just for fun!). At the end of the month I will be switching over officially to work at the gym and start training! If any of you Calgarians are interested in checking out my gym the website is http://www.vagusfitness.com. The team that I have been working with at Vagus are genuine, knowledgeable, professional, helpful, laid back and fun!! It feels a lot like family already, and I am so thankful that God has blessed me with this job. What I am most excited about is the opportunity to share what I learn everyday at training with others, to help them reach their own goals!

vagus-fitness-calgary999

 

Well, I will leave you with this: Take a deep breath… seriously do it.  Whatever is going on in your life, whether good or bad, smile knowing that you will learn through it and that “God works all things for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose.” -Romans 8:28.

Enjoy the long weekend!!

PS. Here’s a couple videos from recent meets:

 

Ok so I know I missed 1.85, but it was so close. It would have been a new personal best, but the video of me making it over is coming soon!

 

PLEASE SEND ME A MESSAGE IF YOU ARE INTERESTED OR HAVE QUESTIONS ABOUT PERSONAL TRAINING SESSIONS!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

