A Week of Thanks

Sometimes it’s hard to think of things to be thankful for when we get so wrapped up in what’s “wrong” with our lives. Sometimes in those dark times, with the help of Jesus taking my blinders off, I am able to see some pretty awesome things that I should be extremely thankful for. They are not of my doing, they are due to God’s provision in my life. We all have them. Just open your eyes and look.

I am thankful for going on walks outside in the middle of a Calgary winter. It’s truly a miracle to be able to do that. Normally it’s too cold to walk from a building to your car.

IMG_0945

I am thankful that I had time to clean my house. It’s always a good week when I have extra time to put aside just to clean my house, especially the kitchen. It’s tough to keep things organized when I train (myself) all morning, train (others) at work in the afternoons and evenings, and come home with just enough time to make dinner and do it all over again.

I’m thankful I was sick at the beginning of this week. It didn’t feel good at the time, but it allowed me to cancel some things off my schedule that I normally wouldn’t, and slow down for a couple days.

I am thankful for my Husband who selflessly thinks of ways he can serve me and love me. What’s more is he’s always thinking of others and how he can show them the love of Christ. He is caring and thoughtful, and an example for me, of what it looks like to love as Christ loves us.

IMG_9098

I am thankful that I went through a really tough week with my achilles. A lot of discouraging thoughts, and a severe lack of patience, but it gave me a chance to lean on the Lord. He continually reaffirms His sovereignty in my life, and my peace and joy is renewed. Being in the Word is a discipline and it re-aligns my priorities and perspectives.

I am thankful for the clients that I was able to train this week. I love all the different types of people I get to meet and get to know. I am also thankful that I can add value to their lives in some small way; By teaching them how to use their bodies properly to live everyday pain free from previous injuries, and give them a chance to be active and healthy and happy in their everyday lives.

I am thankful for my mom and for facetime, and that I am still able to talk to her even though we are so far apart. I am thankful for her constant support and encouragement. By the way, Happy Birthday MOM!

I am thankful that I am able to run at this point in my achilles rehabilitation. It might not be fast, but it’s light, bouncy, faster than walking, and I think it can be referred to as a run.

IMG_1005

 

Leave a Reply

