Heptathlon Training

If you follow me on instagram (@natdjack), then you may know I was at training camp in Tucson a couple weeks ago. Training camp is when we all go as a team and train for 9 or 10 days straight, twice a day. It is meant to push the limits and allow for added focus on the technical aspects of each event. I always come away with a lot of helpful learnings and experiences. It is also a great time of hard work and quality time together as we do what we love. Plus who doesn’t love the Tucson Spring sunshine?

You may also know that I ruptured my achilles almost 9 months ago now, and it was an incredible blessing to be able to go to the camp. Not only did I get to go to camp, but I was able to train the whole way through and come out of it feeling great with no problems!! My body responded really well to the training, and in many aspects I could see the old me coming back. Needless to say it was an encouraging 10 days.

I still have a ton of work to do, and at times it still seems overwhelming. However it is easy to forget how far I have come until I look back at where I started. Countless hours of physical therapy, tiny repetitive exercises, zero strength in my right leg, pushing through the pain and discouragement. It has been a long road so far. I’m making good progress.

So I wanted to let you know that I will be competing tomorrow. Yup, first competition of the season. Everyone else started back in December or January, so I’m only… 5 months behind. I’m going in with no expectations and I’m really looking forward to just having fun.  Hurdles and shot put here I come. Wish me luck. Better yet, pray for me πŸ™‚

IMG_0880

Leave a Reply

