Global Running Day

I love running. As you can can tell from the photo and the look of pain and grit on my face, running is hard. There’s no getting around it. To improve in running, you have to push your body past what is comfortable, many times, past what you even think is possible. Life is like running. Life is difficult. There are always obstacles to overcome, and if you can learn from those difficult challenges in life, you come out stronger and wiser.  I am thankful to God for giving me a body that can run, because through my running career I have learned so many life lessons. Actually through sport in general. Team sport, individual sport, competition, training, rest, nutrition. All these things have played a very large role in shaping who I am today, and teaching me how to live the rest of my life.

Today is Global Running Day.  Tomorrow I am 39 weeks pregnant (that means 1 week from Due Date). Today I cannot run like I used to, and my body looks much different than in did in that photo, but I am transitioning into a new phase of life. Aaron and I are about to have our first child… my brain still isn’t grasping what that means or how much this is going to change our lives forever, but we are very excited! Now despite the excitement of this amazing time of life, it has been a difficult transition. I ended my last track season last July, and was pregnant in September. My body didn’t have much of a rest between the intensity of training and then the craziness of growing a baby for 9 months. We also moved back to the States… just a minor transition.

Needless to say, I miss training like I used to and running has been tough for me these past months. It is pretty demotivating when each week you go to run, it gets harder than the week before. Or when you go to lift, you lift lighter than you did the week before. Working out during pregnancy is probably one of the most mentally challenging times, because you don’t ever see positive results, (other than feeling way better when you do), whereas all my past experiences have been the opposite. When I would run on the track and put in the work, I would see a progression. My times would get faster, running would get easier. Obviously this is not the case with pregnancy, and I knew that going into it, it’s just more difficult when you actually experience it. So as my baby has grown, I have listened to my body, tried not to be too hard on myself, and continued to stay active while not giving myself any standards to live up to. Just doing what feels good. It’s been fun! And SO different from how I have been trained to workout, but it is for a time. And let me tell you, I am so excited to get back at it when I am able to. Now, what kind of working out I will be getting back to is a whole other challenge for another blog post. See, it’s difficult to find motivation and something to train for when you are no longer competing in a sport. If any of you have any ideas, let me know!

So for those of you who are willing and able to run, get out there and run! Enjoy the freedom and ability to be able to do activities with your body, feel your heart pumping, and your lungs expanding. It’s a beautiful thing, and so are the difficulties that come with it. AKA, lack of oxygen, lactic acid, sore muscles… and Happy Global Running Day.

Leave a Reply

